news.gif (9604 bytes)

| Schedule/Prices | Directions | Drivers | Track | Standings | Race Results | Sponsors | News | Links | Gallery | Chat | Home |

flag2.gif (3270 bytes)

Robbie Pyle's On At Columbus

September 11, 1999

Columbus, OH...Robbie Pyle scored easily the most memorable victory of his life Saturday at Columbus Motor Speedway. The second generation driver attended his mother’s funeral in the morning and then strapped into his NASCAR Winston Racing Series late model for the 75 lap Season Championship event and the emotional victory. He fought back the tears in a post race interview commenting that, "Mom always came to see the races and I’m sure she’s up there somewhere watching over me tonight."

Kevin Miller controlled the 22 car event from the outset just ahead of Robbie Dean and Don Whetnall. Dean bypassed Miller on lap three and quickly drew away as Pyle was moving toward the front. He started eighth and claimed the runner-up position by lap seven. He closed on Dean in the ensuing six counters and as the pair completed lap 14 drew even with the leader. Two circuits later in was all Pyle as his Bob Evans Camaro proved too much for Dean’s mount. Pyle paced the remainder of the event leading by as much as a quarter lap at times. Dean maintained second spot until the final circuit when Donnie "Zero" Hill slipped past. Dean held on for third followed by Whetnall and Chris Moore. Hill and car owner’s Jerry and Judy Dennis celebrated their first track championship by virtue of his second place finish.

Bob Grubaugh notched his first limited sportsman feature triumph this season in an exciting conclusion that saw the third through fifth place cars slide across the finish line. Don Gregory Jr paced the early stages of the 35 lap affair drawing pressure from Randy Sword and Grubaugh. Grubaugh utilized the outside lane around the third mile oval to overtake Sword by lap 10 and then went to work on the leader. He pulled alongside last week’s feature winner as 14 laps went up on the Winston Scoreboard and one circuit later he was out front to stay. Jamie Hunt overtook Sword and Gregory in the later stages of the event but had to settle for second. Randy Sword claimed third in a mad scramble at the stripe followed by Mike Schweyer and Jamie Hunt. Hunt pulled down his third track title in four years -one in street stock (1996) and two in limited sportsman (1997-99).

Chris Meier recorded his third street stock feature win this season in that division’s 30 lap event. Dave Disinger showed the way from the outset ahead of Bruce Holmes. Meier picked his way through the field bypassing Holmes for second by the races mid-point. He stalked Disinger until making the winning move with three circuits remaining. Disinger finished second just ahead of Holmes, Bobby Stacy and Bubba Parsons. Davis drove to a conservative 11th place finish and the division’s track championship for the second straight year.

Bryan Nuckles claimed his first career feature win in the 25 lap legend car finale. Mike Sloan started first in the event and led the opening ten counters with Al Renner in pursuit. Nuckles moved quickly toward the front following a 15th place start, securing third on lap ten. He then overtook Renner and Sloan for the lead. Nuckles never looked back as he went on to the win. Sloan finished second followed by Buck Sloan, Greg Boyd and Ken Rice.          

flag2.gif (3270 bytes)

Web Site Designed and Developed by
ascinet.gif (1387 bytes)
ASCInet®, a Division of ASCI, American Systems Consulting, Inc.